Dutch Football League gives World Cup goers a send-off with artwork at Schiphol Airport

The Dutch football league (Eredivisie) has teamed up with football artist Barry Pirovano to create a 25-metre-wide artwork wishing the Eredivisie players good luck for the 2022 FIFA World Cup. The artwork proudly on display at Schiphol Airport features 19 Dutch Eredivisie footballers who will be playing for six different countries.

Last weekend saw the Dutch league’s final round before the winter break. Players from AFC Ajax, Feyenoord, PSV and sc Heerenveen are reporting to their national team squad after learning just last week that they had made the final cut. Jan de Jong, CEO of the Eredivisie CV, remarks: "The Dutch League is honoured to have no less than 19 players who will represent their national colours. It’s a wonderful recognition of their talent, career and quality, of course. But it’s also an acknowledgement of the Eredivisie as a great competition in Europe. We wish all the players sporting success and, naturally, look forward to their return to the Netherlands’ fields in January."

Football artist and illustrator Barry ‘Piro’ Pirovano created the artwork. Though he has garnered attention in recent years for his distinctive football art, the work at Schiphol is particularly special to him. According to Pirovano, "It’s my largest work to date. After getting the opportunity to design this season’s Dutch league football, this is a great follow-up."

The artwork features the following 19 dutch-league players who were chosen for their national selections:

  • Netherlands national team (12): Remko Pasveer (AFC Ajax), Jurriën Timber (AFC Ajax), Daley Blind (AFC Ajax), Steven Berghuis (AFC Ajax), Davy Klaassen (AFC Ajax), Kenneth Taylor (AFC Ajax), Steven Bergwijn (AFC Ajax), Xavi Simons (PSV Eindhoven), Cody Gakpo (PSV Eindhoven), Luuk de Jong (PSV Eindhoven), Justin Bijlow (Feyenoord Rotterdam) and Andries Noppert (sc Heerenveen).
  • Mexico national team (3): Edson Álvarez (AFC Ajax), Jorge Sánchez (AFC Ajax) and Érick Gutièrrez (PSV Eindhoven)
  • Ghana national team (1): Mohammed Kudus (AFC Ajax)
  • Iran national team (1): Alireza Jahanbakhsh (Feyenoord Rotterdam)
  • Poland national team (1): Sebastian Szymański (Feyenoord Rotterdam)
  • Serbia national team (1): Dušan Tadić (AFC Ajax)

Dit artikel delen