PSV Eindhoven claim title after 3-0 win over Ajax

PSV Eindhoven have won their 24th Eredivisie title after they defeated fierce rivals Ajax, who finished the match with nine men, 3-0 at the Philips Stadion on Sunday (15th April).

Philip Cocu's PSV Eindhoven needed victory over their arch-rivals Ajax to take an unassailable 10-point lead in the Dutch Eredivisie title race with three games left.

Gaston Pereiro settled any early nerves with his ninth goal of the Eredivisie season after 23 minutes. The Uruguayan striker reacted quickest after Ajax defender Matthijs de Ligt blocked Hirving Lozano's effort on the goalline.

The hosts moved 2-0 ahead seven minutes before half-time, when Luuk de Jong headed in Joshua Brenet's left-wing cross. De Jong confidently headed his 12th of the campaign past Ajax goalkeeper Andre Onana.

The game was effectively over as a contest in the 54th minute. Steven Bergwijn expertly brought the ball down - before he drilled his shot past Onana to add further gloss to the scoreline.

Ajax struggled to carve out clear-cut opportunities and their frustrations boiled over in the closing stages of the match. Nicolas Tagliafico and substitute Siem de Jong both received red cards late on for dangerous challenges to compound Ajax's misery.

PSV winning the title in style against their arch-rivals to the delight of the players and fans in Eindhoven  - 3-0 the final score as they lift their 24th Eredivisie title with three games of the season to spare.

Dit artikel delen